DIPR - Manipur

Loading Your Request...


Published on Fri, 25 Mar, 2022 Both

Imphal, March 24, 2022 (DIPR): BJP MLA from Yaiskul AC Shri Thokchom Satyabrata Singh was today unanimously elected as the Speaker of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly.

MLA Dr. Sapam Ranjan Singh moved the motion nominating Shri Satyabrata for the post of Speaker, which was seconded by Mayang Imphal MLA Kongkham Robindro Singh, following which the motion was passed.

Leader of the House, Chief Minister Shri N.Biren Singh, who along with senior member of the Opposition Bench Shri Okram Ibobi Singh led the new Speaker to his chair, thanked the members of the House for unanimously electing Shri Satyabrata.

Shri Biren said in a democracy, the State Assembly and Parliament are considered Temples of Democracy and the resolutions and decisions taken in this House decide the fate of the entire population of the State. The Chief Minister also expressed confidence that Shri Satyabrata will act in a neutral manner during the conduct of the House.

Shri Ibobi also expressed belief that the Speaker will uphold the democratic values, principles, rule of procedure and conduct of the House, act under the Indian Constitution and in an impartial and neutral manner while making his decisions during discussion on any matter or issue in the House.

Newly elected Speaker Shri Satyabrata thanked and expressed gratitude to the members of the House and said that as the members of the House elected him without differentiating themselves as ruling or opposition MLAs, he will also act without any partiality while taking the chair in the House.

He said during any discussion on issues related to the State, he will guide the deliberations with full consideration of the sentiments of all communities inhibiting the State.

He further said he will work to meet the expectation of the members of the August House. He said he will follow the decorum and dignity of the House and work to safeguard the rights and privileges of the Members provided by the parliamentary system of democracy.